The Point of No Return

Saying “no” to the Ivies was easy.  Even Duke and Berkley held more attraction for me.  But Stanford cost me quite a few tears.  I suppose I should have known I would love it: the weather, the excitement of the students, the campus, the proximity to San Fransisco…  But I’d made up my mind, having reached a semi-official point of no return several days prior to my weekend trip to Stanford.  I was going to Cambridge.  I had brought the envelope containing my Reply Form (a “yes” of course) to the post office with somewhat shaky hands, and I wasn’t about to allow a single weekend’s love affair with California sun stop me.

Six months from now, I’ll be across the pond, trying my hardest to develop a British accent, making new friends, and possibly learning something about neuroscience.

So I thought I’d use what some call The Internets partly to share my experiences and likely culture shock with my American buddies (and whoever’s interested) as well as provide myself a gateway for my philosophical rants (I won’t see you close the window, so feel free to do so).

This entry was posted in Education, Travel, Life Philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

