Playing God

Last night, after dinner, I went straight to the Union.  (Well, followed someone there; I would’ve made the wrong turn multiple times.)  I pulled out my membership card, excited to get into the majestic hall were the debate would take place.  Then I saw the line.

Well, shit.  It seems I’m spending more time queueing in Cambridge than ever before–to buy meals, to get my labcoat and safety goggles, and now, to watch the debate that would decide if God is really a delusion.

As I sat cramped in the overflow room, staring at the screen that revealed only part of what those lucky enough to sit in the gallery heard, I realized I was a little disappointed; this debate was going to resolve as little as any other I had ever read about.  Yes, I enjoyed the eloquence of Andrew Copson, and enjoyed being annoyed at the bluntness of his opponent William Craig.  But I had heard all the arguments before.  And none of the debaters were scientists.  There were so many points that could be oh-so-easily made with the smallest bit of science.  You say that God is an invention of the human imagination?  Great!  But don’t support with just historical examples; bring in some studies that proved the connection of parts of the brain with feelings of religiosity.  Finally, an audience member mentioned the idea of “brainwaves”, which the Christian Craig immediately shrugged away, saying he didn’t know much about brainwaves, and that the brain has nothing to do with God.  And no one countered that!

Oh, how I wish I was sitting in the main room, so I could say something about this, rather than clutch my fists and growl at the TV screen.  Next time, I’m skipping dinner.

This entry was posted in Education, Travel, Life Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

