Spring Break in DC: a Procrastination Guide

As my Spring Break continues, I am on a constant search for ways to avoid chemistry. Luckily, living near DC (even if temporarily) allows for a variety of procrastination techniques.

Most importantly, I’m very fortunate to have friends studying at nearby universities–friends I can visit!  These visits are good, because they provide for mutual procrastination, which I’m sure my friends appreciated as well.  First I braved the traffic and construction to get to Georgetown, where I spent a wonderful afternoon wandering back and forth along pretty streets with a good friend, talking and eating frozen yogurt, until we got tired and settled into the basement of a Spanish restaurant for some tapas.  A few days later, I drove (or rather, sat in the passenger’s seat of a car) the five minutes it takes to get to the University of Maryland campus, to have a lovely dinner and a chat with a friend I haven’t seen in years.  Needless to say, it was a great time!

Besides reconnecting with friends, there are plenty of other opportunities to spend a few pleasant few hours.  The Cherry Blossom festival in DC gave me the chance to witness an event that people all over the world come here to see.  And the migraine that developed in the evening allowed for the exploration of a nearby hospital (where I now know they don’t bother to check on you until the boatful of painkillers kick in and you decide to leave and go to sleep anyway).

Finally, spring break in DC is a great excuse to eat out after two months of cafeteria food. The aforementioned tapas were a good start, but my dad’s insistence on a paella was not a fantastic idea.  Let me clarify:  I’ve enjoyed paellas in the past, but this one had squid’s ink.  I didn’t think it would be a problem, but the dish looked like a pile of black mud, with the different sea-animals indistinguishable from the drenched rice.  It was the first time I had difficulty eating a meal due to it’s appearance.

My dad did have another food-related whim that turned out far better.  He insisted day after day to go to a particular French restaurant specifically for tea and dessert.  He had their souffle in mind.  And he was right, it was delicious.

On topic of food, frozen yogurt and especially bubble tea are an essential component to a stay in America.  These are things I’ve been missing at Cambridge, so I think indulging while I’m on break is permissible.

So for those of you who can’t enjoy either of these delicacies, here are some photos of the cherry blossoms. Washington DC Cherry Blossoms 2012Washington DC Cherry Blossoms 2012Washington DC Cherry Blossoms 2012Washington DC Cherry Blossoms 2012Washington DC Cherry Blossoms 2012Washington DC Cherry Blossoms 2012Washington DC Cherry Blossoms 2012Washington DC Cherry Blossoms 2012Washington DC Cherry Blossoms 2012

This entry was posted in Education, Travel, Life Philosophy, Food, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Break in DC: a Procrastination Guide

Leave a Reply

