With my pencil crayons I can draw it

A few recent sketches…

This entry was posted in Art, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to With my pencil crayons I can draw it

  1. jjhiii24 says:

    You seems to possess a wide range of talents accumulated over a fairly short period of years, and your skill with expressing your thoughts, ideas, and vision reminds me of a young Leonardo– “…when he was about 15 his father apprenticed him to the renowned workshop of Andrea del Verrochio in Florence. Even as an apprentice, Leonardo demonstrated his colossal talent. Indeed, his genius seems to have seeped into a number of pieces produced by the Verrocchio’s workshop from the period 1470 to 1475.” — from the Museum of Science website

    You are starting to resemble a 21st century Renaissance woman! Each of the skills you have demonstrated will serve you well, both in neuroscience and as a well-rounded human being.

    Creativity finds expression in cognitive creatures most often by deliberate choice and/or after years of study, depending on the degree of inherited capacity, but the natural world produces its own variety of creative expressions, (crystal formations, beehives, snowflakes) which are a natural consequence of its own evolutionary history and built-in structures. Could it be that creative expression, (by most accounts chosen by natural selection as a survival strategy) is an expression of consciousness in both cognitive creatures and in the natural world?

    You inspire and encourage your readers by such efforts…and we thank you……John H.

  2. Thanks for your praise; I wish it were half-true!

    • jjhiii24 says:

      Okay. I recently commented to another blogger that when someone speaks from the heart, and expresses their true feelings, that it cannot properly be described as “praise,” but I appreciate your point that the reference to Leonardo could be mostly subjective.

      I suppose I meant more specifically to suggest that the spirit of your work, which has many layers and covers a fair range of different talents for someone so young, is evocative of the variety of talents in the young Leonardo when he was in HIS twenties. I did not mean to compare you to him or to suggest you were on a par with him, only that you have a variety of talents that I admire.

      Your sketches are quite good; your stories of your adventures and academic studies demonstrate that you are enormously creative in a number of ways, and you have an excellent eye for a quality photograph, not to mention a fair talent for writing. My guess is that you can’t be just any knucklehead and be accepted as a student at Cambridge either. I feel completely justified in my admiration,

      I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that all of your talents, by coincidence, reside in the frame of a most appealing human being. Leonardo was also considered a man of compassion and creativity, as well as being a most handsome young man in his twenties. Fortunately, it is not a prerequisite for talent to be so appealing, as I would have no talent at all if it were so.

      Warm regards……John H.

Leave a Reply

