Hong Kong: my eyes are bigger than my stomach

The amount of food I consumed during the five days is embarrassing.   But not enough to not put the pictures online.

Bubble Tea!
IMG_8622_1

Rakuen Japanese Restaurant. I was so glad we went here, even though it wasn’t Cantonese food.
DSC_0159

Peanut tofu! (i.e. not tofu, but even more awesome. Apologies for the blurry picture; it was dark, I didn’t want to use flash, and I was in a hurry to eat it)
DSC_0167

Sea Grapes (Kelp). I can’t say it was the most delicious thing ever (it was ok; kinda salty and not much else), but it was certainly one of the more interesting, and the bubble-y texture was pretty cool.
DSC_0165

Every restaurant we went to, my dad was begging to order some random pig parts (tails, ears, feet)… we finally agreed to let him order these “pig knuckles” at Rakuen. He was happy, so all was well. I didn’t try them (they didn’t look good enough for me to break my pescatarianism), but my mom agreed that they were indeed very good, so maybe I missed out. But at least I had room for dessert.
DSC_0169
DSC_0170

Dessert (picture is of shaved ice) at The Dessert Kitchen while wandering on the night streets of Tsim Sha Tsui. It wasn’t as great as it looked, but that’s only because it was grape flavoured, and I’m not a fan. I’m tempted to go back to HK just to have more dessert here though…
DSC_0171

Souffle latte at… McDonalds cafe?! Who knew there’d be such interesting coffee there!
DSC_0190 DSC_0245

We kept seeing “abalone” on the menus and finally gave it a try. Don’t know if it’s worth the price (HKD280 for one!) but the sea creature did taste good.
DSC_0250

This entry was posted in Education, Travel, Life Philosophy, Food, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hong Kong: my eyes are bigger than my stomach

  1. Hong Kong was one of my favorite places guess I need to go back its been a long time since I visited there 🙂 food looks great.

Leave a Reply

