Red Light

I chose my hostel in Amsterdam mainly at random, between those that had decent reviews. I had wanted to stay relatively close to the De Wallen, the red light district, so that I could get back to my room quickly at night (I figured I would visit parks and museums which were father away from the red light district during the day anyway, when safety would not be a problem, and when public transportation would be easily available). In Berlin, I had stayed at St. Christopher’s Inn, which I thought was great, but a bit noisy and bar-centric, so I decided to stay a few doors away. So that’s how I ended up living for a few days at Warmoesstraat 55 in The Greenhouse Effect hostel. Despite being sandwiched between coffeeshops and sex shops, I felt safer walking back at night than I often do in Cambridge!–after all, the street is filled with people (mainly tourists) at all hours of day and night.

The hostel itself turned out to be great (surprisingly quiet given the lively street: the only noise came from my neighbors watching TV), and certainly one of the coolest places I’ve stayed. The rooms were all themed (and I almost wish I had knocked a few doors to see what the other rooms looked like). Mine was the “Red Light” room–I had to take some pictures!

DSC_0001 DSC_0003 DSC_0148 DSC_0146

This entry was posted in Education, Travel, Life Philosophy, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

