Cheese and Chocolate and Everything in Between

I’ve been back in Cambridge for a week already, and I still am devouring daily the chocolate I brought back from Amsterdam. So you can imagine the quantities of food I consumed during my actual visit. But everything (especially the cheese) was so good, that I felt my gluttony was justified: even a cheese sandwich from a take-away window contained delicious (non-plastic) cheese on an amazing brown bread roll.

Coffee was also pretty fantastic, if not incredible: no matter where I ordered my cappuccino, it was, at the very least, decent. Can hardly say that about American coffee!

Another thing that I discovered was mint tea–while I’ve hardly ever seen anyone drink it before, it was the most popular beverage in every cafe I visited. And once I finally tried it, I understood why! The first place I tried it was at Latei, a cafe in the red light district, a street away from where I lived. I also enjoyed the food there so much, that I had to come back and try their apple pie. It was well worth it!

Mint Tea at Latei

Mint Tea at Latei

Other people eating at Latei

Other people eating at Latei

Another amazing cafe was De Bakkerswinkel, a few steps away from my hostel on Warmoesstraat. It ended up being one of the best lunches I ever had.

Chicken, spinach pesto, and grilled eggplant sandwich at De Bakkerswinkel

Chicken, spinach pesto, and grilled eggplant sandwich at De Bakkerswinkel

 

On my last day, I followed two different recommendations and had lunch at Bagels and Beans, and, well, let’s just say that after lunch, I begged them to open a shop in Cambridge.

Goat cheese, walnuts, honey, and thyme, on multigrain bagel at Bagels and Beans.

Goat cheese, walnuts, honey, and thyme, on multigrain bagel at Bagels and Beans.

Bagels and Beans: coffee cups!

Bagels and Beans: coffee cups!

Finally, I had an interesting food-experience for my second-to-last dinner in Amsterdam (this probably deserves a post of its own, but I feel guilty for procrastinating my Cambridge work, so here goes).

I stumbled on a website called “Eat to Meet”, on which people organize meals with strangers. That evening, a group was planning a dinner at Badhuis, and there was one seat free. So I quickly booked that spot, and, with an hour left before the dinner began, scribbled directions for how to get there, ran for the train.

Turns out only three of the six of us showed up, but it was still awesome chatting with strangers over good food. I think it’s a great idea, especially for solo travelers!

Smoked duck at Badhuis during Eat to Meet dinner

Smoked duck at Badhuis during Eat to Meet dinner

This entry was posted in Education, Travel, Life Philosophy, Food, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

